Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

ISD 728 logo

Logo Title

English Language Arts (ELA)

Mission

To provide instruction that develops 21st century literacy skills to empower each student to become a lifelong learner and a meaningful contributor to our global community.

Belief Statements

Lifelong learners will…

  • demonstrate proficiency in literacy skills through a variety of assessments;
  • communicate effectively through speaking and writing while considering and honoring various perspectives;
  • read and respond to a variety of genres and multiple perspectives;
  • expand their vocabulary and knowledge base through independent reading;  
  • access, evaluate, and accurately use media and technology;
  • develop and use creativity and critical thinking skills;
  • connect and contribute skills from the classroom to the global community;    
  • monitor progress and adjust learning to reach goals.

Early Childhood-12th Grade English Language Arts Curriculum Cycle Committee (2017)

Standards 

CONTACT US

Jamie Nord
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services - Elementary
(763) 241-3400 
jamie.nord@isd728.org

Kari Rock
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services - Secondary
(763) 241-3400
kari.rock@isd728.org


Kelly Corbett
Director of Teaching & Learning   
(763) 241-3400 x1205 
kelly.corbett@isd728.org


Open
Sr Administrative Asst - Teaching & Learning   
(763) 241-3400 x5000 


Kristin Hall
Curriculum Specialist (E-5 English & Social Studies, MTSS Elem Literacy), Achievement & Integration
(763) 241-3400 x5029
kristin.hall@isd728.org

Becky Herbert
Curriculum Specialist (E-5 Math & Science, MTSS Elem Math), Gifted & Talented, K-5 Health, K-12 Media Literacy
(763) 241-3400 x5002
rebecca.herbert@isd728.org

Nichole Abernathy
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5004
nichole.abernathy@isd728.org

Kimberly Boyer
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5005
kimberly.boyer@isd728.org

Rachel Drapeau
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5006
rachel.drapeau@isd728.org

Leah Sams
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5013
leah.sams@isd728.org