Skip To Main Content

Family Consumer Science (FACS)

Mission

The mission of Family and Consumer Sciences is to prepare students to manage a healthy personal life, family life and career. Our curriculum supports students as they develop skills through experiential learning to successfully participate in a diverse, global society.

Vision

To prepare students to manage a healthy personal life, family life and career.

Belief Statement 

  • Family
    • Teaching interpersonal skills makes families strong.
    • Strong family relationships are necessary so individuals can become contributing members of society.
    • Effective parenting and caregiving is a learned process.
  • Personal Development
    • A positive self esteem is essential.
    • Students need specific opportunities to develop and enhance self esteem.
    • Proper nutrition maximizes individual development.
  • Relationships
    • Effective interpersonal skills are essential for family, social and occupational success.
  • Career Preparation
    • Students need to learn how to work cooperatively in groups.
    • Students need to prepare for independent living after graduation.
  • Consumerism
    • Informed decision-making is essential to become a knowledgeable consumer and employee.
  • Learning Environment
    • Active student participation leads to effective learning.
    • Application of technology enhances learning.

Resources

CONTACT US

Jamie Nord
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services - Elementary
(763) 241-3400 
jamie.nord@isd728.org

Kari Rock
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services - Secondary
(763) 241-3400
kari.rock@isd728.org


Kelly Corbett
Director of Teaching & Learning   
(763) 241-3400 x1205 
kelly.corbett@isd728.org


Ashley Buhay
Sr Administrative Asst - Teaching & Learning   
(763) 241-3400 x5000 


Kristin Hall
Curriculum Specialist 
(763) 241-3400 x5029
kristin.hall@isd728.org

Becky Herbert
Curriculum Specialist 
(763) 241-3400 x5002
rebecca.herbert@isd728.org

Nichole Abernathy
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5004
nichole.abernathy@isd728.org

Kim Boyer
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5005
kimberly.boyer@isd728.org

Rachel Drapeau
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5006
rachel.drapeau@isd728.org

Leah Sams
Curriculum Specialist
(763) 241-3400 x 5013
leah.sams@isd728.org