Return to Headlines

Four ISD 728 Teachers Among More Than 130 Nominated for 2020 MN Teacher of the Year

Four ISD 728 Teachers are among the more than 130 nominees named the field for the 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, presented by Education Minnesota. 

They are: 

Lisa Becker, third grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School, who is in her 12th year with the District; 

Scott Lillestrand, math teacher at Salk Middle School, who has been in ISD 728 for more than 15 years; 

Deb Colborn, a second grade teacher at Zimmerman Elementary who is in her 18th year in ISD 728; 

and Natasha Goudy, a special education teacher at Salk who has been with the District for nearly seven years. 


The four candidates have accepted their nomination and are completing an informative packet that will be at the center of the Minnesota Teacher of the Year selection process. 

This year's program will name the state's 56th Teacher of the Year. ISD 728 has put forth multiple finalists, including several over the past five years from Otsego Elementary, Zimmerman Middle/High School, Salk Middle School and the COMPASS program. 


"It's a really interesting process for any teacher, because you get to share ideas and what motivates you with other incredible teachers from around this state," said finalist Scott Glew, who was nominated in the 2017-2018 school year. "You learn a ton." 

The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced in May at the St. Paul River Center. A 25-member panel will begin the process of narrowing down the field of 134 candidates to a group of semifinalists, with the next announcement coming in the next month. 


Deb Colborn Lisa Becker Goudy Lillestrand

Above (from left to right): ISD 728's Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates - Deb Colborn, Lisa Becker, Natasha Goudy and Scott Lillestrand.