Return to Headlines

Six ISD 728 Teachers Candidates for MN Teacher of the Year

The 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 168 candidates, including six from ISD 728. These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor. The number of candidates this year is the third-most in the 55-year history of the award.


ISD 728 nominees include:

Chelsie Cabak


Chelsie Cabak

Kindergarten Teacher

Rogers Elementary School






Lauren Generous


Lauren Generous

Band Teacher

Salk Middle School






Katie Johnson


Katie Johnson

First Grade Teacher

Prairie View Elementary School






Sara Klingelhofer


Sara Klingelhofer

Band Teacher

VandenBerge Middle School






Heather Mortinson


Heather Mortinson


ISD 728 District Office






Tony Wolverton


Tony Wolverton

Fourth Grade Teacher

Hassan Elementary School






This year’s program will name the 55th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public and private schools.


The 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 5, at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.


Salk Middle School social studies teacher Scott Glew was a finalist for the award last year, the second time in three years the district had a representative on the final weekend of the award process.


Organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year program receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.