Return to Headlines

ISD 728 Honors with Best of the Best with Annual Awards

Each year, under the guidance of the Elk River Education Association and the ISD 728 Human Resources Department, the school district honors a handful of teachers and staff members who are nominated by their peers for excellence in their craft.


These nominations are then scored by a panel of district personnel, including teachers, administrators, directors and communications staff.


Six winners were named recipients of this year’s annual awards.


Early Educator of the Year


kara huberty

Kara Huberty

ECFE Teacher
Handke Center



Elementary Teacher of the Year 


Sarah Montplaisir

Sarah Montplaisir

Media Specialist
Westwood Elementary School



Secondary Teacher of the Year 


dave crocker

Dave Crocker

VandenBerge Middle School



Staff Member of the Year



Deborah Whiteoak

Elk River High School



District-Wide Teacher of the Year


tricia sanford

Patricia Sanford

Curriculum Specialist
District Office


Volunteer of the Year


Terri Lee

Terri Lee

Westwood Elementary School