Return to Headlines

ISD 728 Board Elects Chair, Officers with Organizational Meeting

The ISD 728 School Board held its organizational meeting for 2023 on Monday, January 9, laying out its lineup of officers and leadership for the year. 

Current Board Chair Holly Thompson was selected by the Board to once again lead the group. With the departure of Tony Walter, Thompson is now the longest-serving member of the ISD 728 School Board. 

“We are proud of the leadership Holly has shown over the past two years as Board chair, and we’re excited as we work together on our new Strategic Plan and other initiatives that will guide our District in the years to come,” said Superintendent Dan Bittman. “Holly does a fantastic job representing our parents, families and staff in her role on our Board.” 

“I’m looking forward to working with Dr. Bittman and our leadership team in ISD 728, and with the rest of the Board as we do some very important work this year for our District,” Thompson said. “It’s a new group with some new faces on our Board and I’m excited to see how we can make ISD 728 an even better place for our students, families and staff.” 

Joel Nelson was elected vice chair. Serving as treasurer of the Board will be Sara Weis. Weis was re-elected to the group in 2022. Newcomer Sarah Hamlin will be the new Board clerk. Hamlin was sworn in as a new member at the January 9 meeting. 

Other new members joining the panel were John R. Anderson and Mindy Freiberg. Rounding out the board is Christi Tullbane. 

Board members also were designated to work with various groups throughout the District and beyond via committee assignments, including project oversight, activities and athletics, state advocacy, superintendent evaluation, and magnet schools.