Return to Headlines

ISD 728 Trio Honored as Athena Award Winners

Three ISD 728 high school student-athletes have been honored as recipients of the 2018 Athena Award, recognizing senior year women for their efforts in athletics and in the classroom.


The three women will attend the Minneapolis Athena Awards Luncheon, joining dozens of fellow female athletes from around Minnesota schools.


Here are ISD 728’s honorees:


BIZAL Madison Bizal, Elk River High School

As has been well documented, Bizal broke new ground for ISD 728, Elk River High School and Team USA as a defensive specialist on the World U18 squad that picked up a gold medal in Russia back in January.

The future Ohio State Buckeye is also a part of the Elk Buddies program, which pairs high school students with their special needs friends from around ERHS. They attend activities and events together to build relationships. Bizal is also a member of the National Honor Society.








Ilea May Ilea May – Zimmerman High School

May has floor burns on her floor burns after four years with both the volleyball and basketball programs at Zimmerman High. “I-Lee” is also a member of the Fellowhip of Christian Athletes, National Honor Society, Prom Committee and volunteers around the Zimmerman community.


The captain of both the volleyball and basketball teams, she was all-conference in both sports in 2017-2018, captured conference championships each of the last two years in hoops and made the regional final twice.


May will be attending the University of North Dakota next fall, where she plans to major in nursing.




Paeytin Levis Paeytin Levis – Rogers High School

Not many have crammed more into four years of high school than Levis. Hockey is her true passion – she’ll play with Bizal at The Ohio State University next season – she’s also a standout tennis player and solid golfer for the Royals.


She set aside softball as a younger player and focused on three sports, and wound up all-conference in two of them. Levis is also involved in Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) at Rogers, as well as the National Art Honor Society and National Honor Society.