Return to Headlines

ISD 728 Honors 'Great Eight'

Each year, under the guidance of the EREA and the ISD 728 Human Resources department, the school district honors a handful of teachers and staff members who are nominated by their peers for excellence in their craft.


These nominations are then scored by a panel of district personnel, including teachers, administrators, directors and communications staff.


This year, eight winners were named recipients of this year’s annual awards.


They are:

  • Early Educator of the Year — Sarah Klocker, Prairie View Early Education
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year — Tina Ostroot, Prairie View Elementary 
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year — Tom Bulman, Otsego Elementary 
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year — Timothy Hahn, Rogers Middle School
  • Staff Member of the Year — Eva Certa, Special Education Assistant, Prairie View Elementary and Middle School
  • Staff Member of the Year — Troy Anderson, District Technology Team
  • District-Wide Teacher of the Year — Mary T. Schmitz, Mindfulness Specialist
  • Volunteer of the Year — Sandra Langer, Rogers High School


Sarah Klocker (Early Educator of the Year), Tina Ostroot (Elementary Teacher of the Year ) & Eva Certa (Staff Member of the Year)

 Sarah Klocker, Tina Ostroot, Eva Certa



Tom Bulman (Elementary Teacher of the Year)

Tom Bulman


Timothy Hahn (Secondary Teacher of the Year)

Tim Hahn


secondary teacher of the year tim hahn with his family


 Mary T. Schmitz (District-Wide Teacher of the Year) & Troy Anderson (Staff Member of the Year)

Annual Award Winners Mary T and Troy Anderson


Sandra Langer (Volunteer of the Year)

Volunteer of the Year Sandra Langer